July 2011.2


109Low Graduate School of Arts and Sciences | Columbia University
spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer
  Of Professional Interest  
  Colleges and Academics Split Their Personalities for Social Media Professors, administrators, and staff negotiate the sharing of personal and professional information online.   E-SalvationDoes technology have a mind of its own? Evegny Morozov addresses Kevin Kelly's category of the technium in What Technology Want.  
  Social media   Ipad  
  Planning a Class with Backward Design Wiggins and McTighe's book Understanding by Design inspires an instructor to focus on outcomes rather than on the reading list.   Ideas  
  Good-Enough ResearchDiscerning the intellectual processes and the valuation of ideas that characterize the contemporary student.   Accounting for What We DoOn the measure of faculty productivity and the assessment of performance in higher education.  
  Deadlines and Events  
  Hertog Global Strategy Initiative Lecture Series
Thursday, July 14, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m., Faculty House
Vincent Racaniello, Higgins Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, will present the next lecture for the Hertog Global Strategy Initiative, an annual research program that uses historical analysis to confront present and future problems in world politics. This year's topic is the history and future of pandemic threats and global public health. For more information about the lecture series taking place through August 1, or to RSVP, please click here.
  Graduate Fellowship Boot Camp
Thursday, July 21, 10:00 - 4:00 p.m., 301 Philosophy Hall
In this day-long workshop graduate students will develop a draft application for fellowship competitions and have it reviewed and edited. Students are welcome to work on a submission for a specific competition or on a draft that can be customized later. The workshop will help students identify fellowships, develop a draft application, and plan for full funding during their doctoral years. Click here for more information or to register.
  Applications for Loans and Work-Study GSAS students applying for federal or private loans or work-study must complete the relevant application and submit it to the GSAS Office of Financial Aid in 107 Low Library by the start of the fall term. The application must be signed by the student's program or department prior to submission to GSAS.  
Thirty GSAS students received the National Science Foundation's Graduate Research Fellowship for the new academic year. The fellowship supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Awardees are David Dralle, Applied Mathematics; Daniel D'Orazio, Astronomy; Danielle Bogdanowicz, Haoqian Chen, and Kristen Lee, Biomedical Engineering; Michael A. Peralta and Linda Suen, Chemistry; Robert McCormick Elliott, Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics; Samantha Ainsley, Computer Science; Guleed Ali, Ellen Crapster-Pregont, Catherine Pomposi, and John Templeton, Earth and Environmental Sciences; Case Prager, Maressa Takahashi, and Brian Weeks, Ecology, Evolution, and Environmental Biology; Elliott Ash, Economics; Anthony Erlinger and Robert Margolies, Electrical Engineering; Tulsi Patel, Genetics and Development; Karsten Gimre and Vivek Pal, Mathematics; Anita Burgos, Timothy A. Machado, and Krista Spiller, Neurobiology and Behavior; Elizabeth Millings, Nutritional and Metabolic Biology; Benjamin Frandsen, Physics; David Szakonyi, Political Science; Juliet Davidow, Psychology; and Cassandra Nader, Quantitative Methods in the Social Sciences.   NSF logo
Cyrus Samii, doctoral student in Political Science, received the Warren J. Mitofsky Student Paper Award from the New York Chapter of the American Association for Public Opinion Research—the leading association of public opinion and survey research professionals—for his paper "Who Wants to Forgive and Forget? Transitional Justice Preferences in Post-War Burundi."   Soldier
The Department of Biological Sciences has announced the 2010-11 recipients of its graduate student prizes: The John S. Newberry Prize was awarded to Mo Chen and Shengdong Ke. Julian Scherer, Daniel Duzdevich, and Lynn Biderman received the James Howard McGregor Award. The Charles A. Huebschman Prize went to Nicola Mandriota, and Qianhe Zhou and Bharat Reddy received the Peter Sajovic Memorial Prize.   DNA coil
Of Professional InterestDeadlines and EventsAnnouncementsContact Us
GSAS logo Published semimonthly by the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences of Columbia University
For more GSAS news and information, visit Superscript,
the online publication for the GSAS alumni community.