Executive Committee of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

The Executive Committee of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences is the deliberative body for all the research PhD and MA programs at Columbia, and has faculty representatives from all the doctoral programs across the university: Architecture, Arts and Sciences, Business, Engineering, International and Public Affairs, Journalism, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health, Social Work, and Teachers College. The committee establishes educational and administrative policy for graduate education in the university. Among its most important functions are reviewing existing programs of study and approving proposals for new doctoral and master's programs.


Carlos J. Alonso, Dean

Arts and Sciences Departments


Josef Sorett, Religion

Wael Hallaq, Middle Eastern, South Asian, and African Studies

Carol Rovane, Philosophy

Aaron Fox, Music

Natural Sciences

Laura Kaufman, Chemistry

Erick Weinberg, Physics

Eleanor Sterling, Ecology, Evolution and Environmental Biology

Guy Sella, Biological Sciences

Social Sciences

Josh Whitford, Sociology

Nadia Urbinati, Political Science

Rosalind Morris, Anthropology

Adam Kosto, History

College of Physicians and Surgeons

Arthur Palmer, Associate Dean for Graduate Affairs, College of Physicians and Surgeons

Debra Wolgemuth, Genetics and Development

Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Soulaymane Kachani, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

Doctoral Program Subcommittees

Architecture and Urban Planning

Felicity Scott, Architecture, Planning, and Preservation

Biostatistics, Environmental Health, Epidemiology and Sociomedical Sciences

Julie Kornfeld, Epidemiology


Paolo Siconolfi, Business


Andrea Tucher, Communications 


Charles Basch, Health and Behavior Studies


Arlene Smaldone, Nursing

Social Work

Julien Teitler, Social Work

Sustainable Development

John Mutter, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Student Representatives

Lisa Kahl, GSAC President, Biological Sciences

Andrew Hsu, GSAC Vice President, Chemistry

GSAS Staff and Associates

Andrea Solomon, Vice Dean and Dean of Academic Affairs

Rebecca Hirade, Associate Dean for Finance and Operations

Richard Slusarczyk, Associate Dean of Academic and Student Affairs

Thalyana Stathis, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs