Exchange Scholar Program

The Ivy Plus Exchange Scholar Program enables Columbia doctoral students in Arts and Sciences departments to take courses and/or conduct research for one or two semesters at one of the following graduate schools, in order to take advantage of particular educational opportunities not available at Columbia:

  • Brown University
  • University of California at Berkeley
  • University of Chicago
  • Cornell University
  • Harvard University
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • Princeton University
  • Stanford University
  • Yale University

Permission from the department and the Office of the Dean is required to participate. To be eligible, students must be in years two through seven of their doctoral program. Typically, students on GSAS funding participate in the Exchange Scholar program while on their dissertation fellowship.

Columbia students who wish to study at one of the institutions above should download and complete a paper Exchange Scholar Application. For additional information, contact Sarah Jackman at (212) 854-6724 or s.jackman [at]

Non-Columbia students who wish to study at Columbia: Click here for online application instructions.